Funemployment

I stole this title from the interwebs, but it fits me perfectly at the moment. Let me explain…

My last post ended saying I had gotten a “big-kid job” in Colorado Springs. In a nutshell, things didn’t work out as planned, and though I am in the Springs, I am now unemployed. Or, as I have decided to called FUNemployed! Really, I am looking at this as a blessing as I now have time to really explore this new place and take in all its autumn beauty. I admit it took me a while to get there mentally, and it’s still a struggle. A lot of times I feel worthless and angry, but as soon as I see my little nieces and nephews faces, ride bikes up and down the sidewalk, and jump on the trampoline, God’s peace crashes over me. I’m right where he wants me.Image

I also ended my last post quoting UP! with “adventure is out there!”. And golly, there have been some great adventures! It started with the trek out to Colorado. After lots of help from my mom, sister, and her boyfriend, the moving truck was packed and ready to roll out. It was hard to leave the paradise that is Santa Barbara. I have posted on here numerous times about how jaw-droppingly beautiful that place is, and how insanely blessed I felt waking up every day there for 4 years. There were a few moments on the drive where I got the sniffles, or couldn’t catch my breath (I’m chalking that one up to the altitude in Leadville-redonk!…and now on my bucket list). Most of the time, though, as my mom caravanned in my mini behind me, I jammed out and danced in my seat. I almost lost control at one point when my leg started to tickle and there was a massive grasshopper on meImage. The culprit: vicious.

Since being here, I have moved into my new place and am living with fellow pro-triathlete, Megan Riepma. It’s been such a blessing to be toted around the best places to ride, hooked up with a great masters swim program at the OTC, and to live with someone who understands what a unique lifestyle we lead. It’s also a blessing to be reminded how quickly fitness is lost in the off-season! :) Megan has become a good friend and a great person to go exploring with!
ImageFor instance, this last week we hauled by this random older male cyclist, and began chatting while he tried to hold our wheel. He told us about a road ahead which “is like a wall” and wished us luck if we wanted to try it. I’m pretty sure Megan and I both had a moment of “That’s a joke. Challenge accepted.” Without needing to confirm plans, we both headed right up the next road. Let’s just say we didn’t need the luck.

On Sunday Megan and I decided to get lost in the mountains a bit. Not knowing the area, I chose a hike I discovered online. Unbeknownst to me, this was actually in the burn zone from the Waldo Canyon fires that hit over the summer. Covered in ash, hopping around fallen trees, the area was barren and spooky.
Image
I had read that there were small waterfall with pools to jump in. I was so excited, I made sure to wear my bikini underneath my shorts and t-shirt. But everything was pretty much dried up. As you can see, those leaves are extra crispy.

After that 6-mile trek, we decided to take a quick trip up the incline, a 0.9 mile killer hike. While my quads were ready to pop off (remember the off-season lack of fitness), Megan flew to the top. We chatted for a few minutes then decided to jog down the side trails. Not 2 minutes later did a huge storm come out of nowhere! I couldn’t help but laugh like a little kid as the hail stung my skin while I jogged 4 miles downhill, with my bikini on. 
ImageIt was a fun way to end the week, and definitely gave us a story to laugh about! 

So what’s up next? I will continue my off-season adventures with a trip to Hawaii!! I’ve been planning to go watch the Kona Ironman for a long time now, and I finally saved up the money this summer to do it. I’ll be flying into Santa Barbara for a few days this weekend to catch up with some friends before heading over to the big island. I’ve got a list of fun things I want to do and explore over there (night dive with mana rays and swim in waterfalls for real!). But I’m also super excited to watch some friends (Adrienne Hengels) and teammates (Brian Duffy) race and cheer my butt off for them! I’m sure I’ll have lots to share after my trip. Yay for Funemployment!Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Funemployment

  1. Hey! I went to leave you a comment and it kind of kicked me off line and made me sign in to wordpress la de da de da…I don’t really know if it worked…SO, I said.. “You should come to Boulder for a visit. Would love to catch up.”!

    • sbrmoose says:

      Yes! I definitely plan on making a trip up there and I’d love to have someone show me around! I’ll message you my # and we can figure out some deets :)

  2. Brittany says:

    YAY MOOSE!

  3. swimminggear says:

    Looks like the grasshopper wants to go on a road trip.

    A 6 mile trek right before a .9 mile incline hike. What an ANIMAL!

Leave a comment